by Meetings & Conventions Asia | January 22, 2019

Thailand extends its visa-on-arrival fee waiver programme until April 30, 2019 (a_Taiga/GettyImages)

The Tourism Authority of Thailand (TAT) recently announced that the Royal Thai Government has approved the extension of the visa-on-arrival fee waiver for citizens of 20 countries until April 30, 2019. Previously, the exemption of the visa-on-arrival fee was from November 15, 2018, to January 13, 2019. 

The purpose of the extension is to stimulate and promote tourism, as well as to enhance the country's attractiveness among foreign visitors during the high travel season. 

 Yuthasak Supasorn, governor of TAT, said the continuation of the stimulus visa-on-arrival measure came at a perfect time as Thailand is set to celebrate Chinese New Year in February and the Thai New Year (Songkran) in April. "This year, the Chinese New Year official opening ceremony will be held at Siam Square, one of the most popular shopping areas in Bangkok. We aim to attract more of the younger generation to enjoy the traditional performances."

The list of countries eligible for the visa-on-arrival fee waiver until April 30: 

• Andora
• Bulgaria
• Bhutan
• Mainland China
• Cyprus
• Ethiopia 
• Fiji
• India
• Kazakhstan 
• Latvia
• Lithuania 
• Maldives
• Malta
• Mauritius 
• Papau New Guinea
• Romania
• San Marino
• Saudi Arabia
• Taiwan
• Ukraine
• Uzbekistan